What are Indian Languages and Their States?

Posted on May 18th, 2021

Indian Languages and Their States , states languages of india

What are Indian Languages and Their States?

Indian languages and states

India is a federal, secular, democratic republic with a parliamentary form of government. It is a union of states. For administrative purposes, India, one of the world’s most populous countries, is divided into 28 states and eight union territories. Traditions, history, architecture, language, and cuisine differ from one state to the next and are specific to each country.

The world’s second-most populous country is home to over 19000 languages, making it the world’s most linguistically diverse country. Articles 343 to 351 of Part XVII of the Indian constitution deal with official languages.

Despite the fact that the Constitution does not define the official language at this time, the Constitution’s Eighth Schedule lists 22 languages (originally 14 languages). Let’s take a look at the Indian states and their official languages.

India, the world’s seventh-largest nation, is rich in customs and cultural diversity. Language is one of the most important aspects of our diversity. According to the most recent census analysis, India has more than 19,500 languages or dialects spoken as mother tongues. In India, which has a population of 121 million people, there are 121 languages spoken by 10,000 or more people.

As a result, we are the most linguistically diverse country in the world. This is a hindrance to both public and private relations at the same time. As a result, the constitution designated 22 languages as official languages of various states and communities in order to unify government affairs and facilitate contact among various groups. Let’s take a look at the languages spoken in each of India’s states.

Indian states and their official language


  1. Assamese— official language of Assam
  2. Bengali— official language of Tripura and West Bengal
  3. Bodo— official language of Assam
  4. Dogri— official language of Jammu and Kashmir
  5. Gujarati— official language of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, and Gujarat
  6. Hindi— official language of Arunachal Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Bihar, Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttaranchal
  7. Kannada— official language of Karnataka
  8. Kashmiri— official language of Jammu and Kashmir
  9. Konkani— official language of Goa and Mangalore
  10. Malayalam— official language of Kerala and Lakshadweep
  11. Manipurior Meithei — official language of Manipur
  12. Marathi— official language of Maharashtra
  13. Nepali— official language of Sikkim
  14. Oriya— official language of Orissa
  15. Punjabi— official language of Punjab and Chandigarh, the second official language of Delhi and Haryana
  16. Sanskrit— the language of Hinduism, required teaching in many schools
  17. Santali– the language of the Santhal tribals of the Chota Nagpur Plateau (comprising the states of Jharkhand, Bihar, Orissa, and Chattisgarh)
  18. Sindhi– the language of the Sindhi community
  19. Tamil— official language of Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry
  20. Telugu— official language of Andhra Pradesh
  21. Urdu— official language of Jammu and Kashmir, Andhra Pradesh, Delhi, and Uttar Pradesh


Must check List of the Indian States and Capital


Takshila Learning lets you understand the official languages of different states. The mentors at Takshila learning lets you prepare for the examinations in the right way and appear for the same with confidence.

Takshila Learning helps you in knowing about the languages specific to the regions

ssc chsl online coaching

Subscribe to our social channel.

facebook Insta Pinterest youtube


Prepare School Online Classes with our Animated Video lectures and Interactive Live Online Classes

Here, Takshila Learning offers Online School Classes from Preschool to Class 12, Online Classes for Professional Courses, i.e., CA Course/ CSEET Online Classes / CMA Online Classes / ACCA IFRS, Skill Development courses, i.e., Python for EDA Course, Digital Marketing Course In Hindi, Competitive Exams, i.e., SSC / Banking online classes / Railways.

Learning is fun now!

Enroll today & Get Free Demo Class!



Call at 8800999280 / 8800999283 / 8800999284 fill the form for any other details:


Tag – Indian states and their languages; Indian states and languages; states languages of India; languages of India


Share and Enjoy !

0 0